Holidays to Canary Islands – The Canary Islands, An Impressive Place To Stay!

The Canary Islands are a Spanish island chain which, in turn, forms one of the Spanish Autonomous Communities and an Outermost Place belonging to the European Union. This specific paradisiac group of islands, benefiting from an absolute stunning climate, which has a consistent mild temperature through almost all the year, and excellent beaches of fine sand, consists of 7 larger sized islands (Gran Canaria, Fuerteventura, Lanzarote, Tenerife, La Gomera, La Palma as well as El Hierro) as well as a handful of less significant ones (Alegranza, Graciosa, Montaña Clara, Roque del Este, Roque del Oeste and Lobos).

Unexpectedly, the landscape of every single island is substantially different to the others. The island chain is located just off the northwest coast of mainland Africa, hundred kilometer to the west of the disputed border between Morocco and the Western Sahara. The sea currents that depart from Canary’s coasts used to guide ships away to The United States.

Holidays to Canary Islands – The Canary Islands, An Impressive Place To Stay!

Already the ancient Romans and Greeks reported on this archipelago of volcanic origins, and named it the Happy Islands, Garden of the Hesperides, Atlantida. Certain historians suppose that the mythical continent Atlantis was located here. The islands’ original citizenry, commonly called Guanches, is tall and of white skin color.

In 1496 the islands became part of the Spanish empire, and the ships of Christopher Columbus stopped right here on their travel to discover the New World.

The Canaries have fantastic natural attractions, climate and beaches, making the islands an international tourist destination, being visited each and every year by close to 12 million persons. Among the islands, Tenerife has the biggest number of visitors per year, followed by Gran Canaria and Lanzarote. The archipelago’s primary tourist attraction is the Teide National Park (in Tenerife) where the highest mountain in Spain and 3rd largest volcano in the world (Mount Teide) is situated. It welcomes more than 2.8 million visitors yearly.

The Canaries currently has a human population of more than two million inhabitants, making it the eighth most populous of Spain’s autonomous residential areas, having a density of 281.8 inhabitants per km². The total area of the islands is 7500 km². It also enjoys a sub-tropical local climate with longer hot days in summer and cooler days in winter.

The status of capital city is actually shared by the urban centers of Santa Cruz de Tenerife and Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, which in turn are the capitals of the provinces of Santa Cruz de Tenerife and Las Palmas. Right up until 1927 Santa Cruz de Tenerife was the only capital. The third largest city of the Canaries is San Cristóbal de La Laguna (City World Heritage Site) on the island of Tenerife.

Related Posts